Bruce Mason Centre: The New World

09 August 2017 , 19.30

Conductor Michal Nesterowicz

Percussion Eric Renick

Karlo Margetić Percussion Concerto (World Premiere)

Smetana Vltava (Die Moldau)

Dvořak Symphony No.9, From the New World

It’s an Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra family affair, with its brilliant young composer-in-residence, Karlo Margetić, writing a brand new piece for the orchestra’s equally brilliant principal percussion, Eric Renick. Expect fiery virtuosity and a spectacular array of instruments.

And then, two musical postcards. Smetana follows the longest river in the Czech Republic, from its sources in the forest, through choppy rapids, until it flows broadly and majestically into the Elbe.

His fellow Czech, Dvořak, was living in New York when he wrote this symphonic letter home – an evocation of the open skies, the bustling cities, the endless plains and the limitless promise of America.


Click HERE to get your tickets!